Trials and Tribulations

Recently an intelligent, agnostic, good friend of mine had said to me “Look at your life, and everything your going through and how hard you have it right now, and you believe in God. Look at my life and how I live ( dependently wealthy individual) and I don’t believe in God, Now is a good time to turn on your God, he’s not helping you.”

This saddened me, not because he told me life sucks, I already understand I am going through some trials and tribulations, and have been for awhile, and it seems to be getting worse, not better. But I am already aware of this and its not something new. Not because he told me to turn on my faith or that God isn’t helping me, I know he has a plan and I know my God will not let me go hungry. It saddened me because I felt like my mistakes that have gotten me into this trying time, is not only causing me pain, but also causing me to show a bad example of God working through my life to my non-believing friends. That is the last thing I want to do, to paint a picture that God isn’t merciful, that he doesn’t take care of his children.

Matthew 25-26 says 25 “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes?26 Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds  them.”

I believe this to be true, God feeds the birds and he will take care of me as well.

I also believe what I am going through has a purpose, There is something to learn here.

1 Peter 5:10 And after you have suffered a little while, the God of all grace, who has called you to his eternal glory in Christ, will himself restore, confirm, strengthen, and establish you.

James 1:12 Blessed is the man who remains steadfast under trial, for when he has stood the test he will receive the crown of life, which God has promised to those who love him.

Romans 12:12 Rejoice in hope, be patient in tribulation, be constant in prayer.

I will not dwell on my mistakes or live in regret. Regret lives in the past and I do not want to reinforce the past. I want to move on to the future. So I stand here today,learn from my mistakes, pick up my broken pieces and move on into the future.

There is a future of abundance waiting for me on the other side of the tribulation and I will reach it established.

So I hope my friend can see when I get there the blessings I will have and that they were given to me by the divine.

And even though its hard right now, I still am very blessed, and I must not forget that. I have all the important things in life that I need and amazing people around me and I am very grateful.

Leave a comment